top of page
Search
  • jfarago1

How to make fresh, creamy ricotta


Today, I made fresh ricotta. I keep seeing posts on how easy it is. I love ricotta so much, so thought I’d give it a go. This ricotta puts store bought to shame. It’s amazing!

Recipe - shelf life is up to 5 days in air tight container in the fridge. 1.5 litres full cream pasteurised milk 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice 1/2 tsp sea salt

Method 1. Bring the milk to a simmer, for around 4 mins, until hot and frothy on top. If you have a temp gage, the temp should be 200 degrees. 2. Add the salt and lemon juice, stir, then turn off the heat. Set aside for 10 mins. 3. Check the curds have formed with a slotted spoon. There should be a yellow cloudy whey at the bottom, and the curds sitting on top. 4. Strain using muslin cloth, chux or a nut milk bag (that’s what I used). 5. Leave the curds to drain for 30mins to a couple hours, depending on how wet or firm you like your ricotta. I placed mine in the fridge draining into a bowl, and left for a few hours. 6. Transfer into an air tight container, and eat for up to five days.




5 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page